[TRAVEL] My Trip to Tasmania! (Part 1)

I apologize for the lack of posts this week and before this week. It just seemed that I came and went the other week, as I posted quite a lot for a week then disappeared without a trace yet again! >.< My deep apologies for the sudden disappearance.

The past week and so has been quite a roller coaster as I was trying my best to catch up with the classes that I’ve missed by watching them online as well as finishing the load of homework that has just blatantly been dumped onto my poor head. Additionally, I had a mid-semester exam to study for so I was literally doing my best to stand firm!

However, enough about that as I would really like to talk about my trip to Tasmania! I feel like it’s due time that I post about it before I forget what I did during the trip!

Two weeks ago, I had the opportunity to travel to Tasmania, Australia for almost a full week! Although technically, I still had that week left of classes to complete until my official mid-semester break from university. However, I still went along with my family to the little island located just south east of Australia.

We thought that it would be extremely cold in Tasmania, due to the fact that it’s located just a bit below mainland Australia however, when we landed, the weather wasn’t that different to where we currently live; the cool air was tolerable mixed with the hot rays of the sun. It was exceptionally different during the early morning and nights, though, so it was good that I brought along a warm coat to wear!

There was a lot of greenery, forests and plains in Tasmania, as well as some mountains and hills. Also not forgetting the amount of animals in Tasmania, especially sheep. There were, indeed, a lot of sheep as we drove past literally hundreds of farms with our loan car. Not forgetting that there were some other animals as well, like cows and horses!

Crowds and crowds in Salamanca Market!
Crowds and crowds in Salamanca Market!

On arrival and after quickly getting our loan car, we instantly drove our way to Hobart and to Salamanca Street where the famous weekly market, Salamanca Market, takes place. The Salamanca Market had so many food stalls as well as other small stores lined up in neat long rows that it literally took up a whole street for the weekly festival! There were lots of shoppers, music and dancing. Unfortunately, we arrived to the event with only an hour left before pack-up time so we didn’t have enough time to look at all the stalls and stores.

We also visited the Callington Windmill of Oatlands, Tasmania. The windmill is one of the oldest windmills still standing on the island and it still works despite its age. I think I took great photos of the windmill as its background consisted of a few trees and the blue sky above.

Callington Windmill in its full glory ♥
Callington Windmill in its full glory ♥
Another nifty photograph of Callington Windmill :)
Another nifty photograph of Callington Windmill 🙂

The next day, we drove about 2 hours to Launceston, another city located at the north of Tasmania. There, we arrived to a large park with a flowing river and a few mountains at the side connected with a bridge. Funnily enough, there was a swimming pool smack right in the center of the park. Even though the swimming pool sort of made the attraction look odd, the calm river and mountains together was a great sight. My family and I were able to take a nice lesiurely walk around the park, the side of the mountain and across the bridge. We were able to spot some peacocks relaxing under the sun (and looking for food), too!

The suspension bridge we crossed!
The suspension bridge we crossed!
The view of the park!
The view of the park!

Our next stop was Bruny Island which was an even smaller island located about Southeast of mainland Tasmania. We actually rode our car across the sea through the means of a 10-minute boat ride that transported cars to and fro the island. It was really cool!

Seals lazily sunbathing~
Seals lazily sunbathing~
The fake penguins, settling on rocks massively covered by their own poop :P
The fake penguins, settling on rocks massively covered by their own poop 😛

In Bruny Island, we went on a speed boat ride where we saw some dolphins swimming as we cruised by, sea lions sunbathing on the rocks at the far edge of the island, and fake penguins which were really just birds that had the same likeness as penguins. The boat ride also toured us around the coast, showing us nifty caves and other interesting sea plants that can be seen without harming the environment.

107

"Drunk or not, you'd always see this as a king riding a llama."
“Drunk or not, you’d always see this as a king riding a llama.”

The island also had a restaurant, Get Shucked, that caught and served fresh oysters. The oysters could be eaten raw, steamed, or they also had special concoctions of sauces to go along with the oysters; they were delicious! Not only that but the resto had a nice lively aura in it; the furniture and simplicity in the decoration gave me ideas in home decoration, not that I’m living by myself ahaha!

Fresh oysters!
Fresh oysters!
Asian Fusion; soy sauce with a zing of lemon and other hard-to-pronounce spices!
Asian Fusion; soy sauce with a zing of lemon and other hard-to-pronounce spices!

147

 

Leave a Reply

